• Main Street, Collon, Co. Louth
  • info@ardeepost.com
  • Opening Time : Always Open
Armstrong and Treacy Shine in Estonia Rally

Armstrong and Treacy Shine in Estonia Rally

Armstrong and Treacy Shine with a commendable sixth overall.

Armstrong and Treacy Shine in Estonia Rally with a commendable sixth overall.

The Delfi Rally Estonia, round four of the European Rally Championship, witnessed a thrilling final stage finish. Estonian Georg Linnamae, driving a Toyota GR Yaris Rally2, dramatically overturned a 9.3-second deficit to secure a 2.2-second victory over fellow local Robert Virves in a Skoda Fabia Rally2.

Amidst the excitement, the Irish duo of Jon Armstrong and Eoin Treacy delivered their best performance of the season. Piloting an M-Sport Ford Fiesta Rally2, they secured a commendable sixth overall. Despite challenging wet conditions on the final stage, they managed to clock the fourth-fastest time, earning two additional points from the Power Stage.

Armstrong started the rally strong, just a fraction of a second behind leader Hayden Paddon in a Hyundai i20 Rally2 during Friday night’s opening stage. However, Paddon faced issues on Saturday, including a damaged radiator and bent steering after striking a rock on SS9, which saw him finish the day in seventh position.

Throughout Saturday, Armstrong encountered his own set of challenges. He was sixth fastest on SS2 and SS6 but struggled in the ruts on SS4, battling with Mads Ostberg for seventh place. A spin on SS9 caused significant damage to his car, but Armstrong persevered to record the fifth-fastest time on the day’s final stage, ending the day in eleventh place.

By the rally’s conclusion, Armstrong had climbed to sixth. Reflecting on the race, he remarked, “It’s always so tough when it rains like this in Estonia. Sixth place at the end is quite good, especially with our issues. Thanks to M-Sport and Motorsport Ireland Rally Academy.”

In other results, Northern Ireland’s Philip Allen finished 26th after clipping a rock and receiving a penalty. Galway’s Aoife Raftery secured ninth in the RC4 category, eleven minutes behind the category winner, Estonia’s Jasper Vaher.

Strabane’s Aidan Wray emerged victorious in the PRM & RPM Motorsport Loughgall Stages Rally in County Armagh. Driving a VW Polo GTi R5, he finished 6.4 seconds ahead of Kilkenny’s Eddie Doherty. Doherty initially set the pace but was overtaken by Wray after SS5. Donegal’s Aaron McLaughlin, in a Ford Fiesta Rally2, rounded out the top three.

In the Imokilly Motor Club’s forest rallysprint at Aglish, Stephen and Jenna McCann triumphed in their Ford Fiesta R5. After three timed runs, they finished 6.4 seconds ahead of Pat O’Connell and Mark Wiley. Eamonn Kelly and Conor Mohan secured third place in a Ford Fiesta Rally3. The McShane duo, Oisin and Fabian, impressed with a win in the J1000 category driving a VW UP.

Find Us On Facebook
Find Us On X
Live Chat