• Main Street, Collon, Co. Louth
  • info@ardeepost.com
  • Opening Time : Always Open
Match Report: Sligo Rovers vs. Drogheda United

Depleted Shamrock Rovers Overcome Drogheda United

Shamrock Rovers bounced back from their recent defeat to Shelbourne with a crucial victory over Drogheda United at Weavers Park, despite dealing with a host of absentees.

Manager Stephen Bradley faced significant challenges, missing key players Joshua Honohan, Dan Cleary, Trevor Clarke, and Roberto Lopes, with the latter suspended. Additionally, Sean Hoare remained on the injured list, and Jack Byrne was unavailable.

In response to the depleted defense, Bradley creatively deployed midfielders Markus Poom and Darragh Nugent alongside the ever-reliable Lee Grace. Teenager Cory O’Sullivan made his full league debut at left wing-back, giving Rovers a distinctly new look.

Despite concerns about their defense, Shamrock Rovers’ attack proved formidable. Aaron Greene, Johnny Kenny, and Graham Burke formed the frontline, with Kenny and Burke scoring the decisive goals.

The match was crucial, especially on a night when Shelbourne and Derry unexpectedly dropped points. Rovers had struggled at Weavers Park in recent visits, making this victory particularly sweet.

The breakthrough came early in the second half. Ninety seconds in, Aaron Greene delivered a superb arcing pass to Kenny, who timed his run perfectly and slotted a controlled shot past Andrew Wogan.

Seven minutes later, Burke sealed the win with a curling shot from the edge of the area, capitalizing on the lack of pressure from Drogheda’s defense.

After taking the lead, Rovers sat back, inviting Drogheda to attack. However, the home side’s only notable threat was Frantz Pierrot’s diving header, which went wide of the post.

Drogheda United’s lineup included Andrew Wogan; Luke Heeney (Andrew Quinn, 75), Jack Keaney, Hayden Cann, Evan Weir (Conor Kane, 86); Gary Deegan, Oisin Gallagher (Matthew O’Brien, 86); Adam Foley (Ryan Brennan, 75), Darragh Markey, Zishim Bawa; Frantz Pierrot (Killian Cailloce, 86).

Shamrock Rovers fielded Leon Pohls; Darragh Nugent, Lee Grace, Markus Poom; Neil Farrugia (Richard Towell, 67), Conan Noonan, Aaron McEneff (Cian Barrett, 86), Cory O’Sullivan; Aaron Greene, Graham Burke (Dylan Watts, 76), Johnny Kenny (Cian Dillon, 86).

Referee for the match was Robert Harvey.

Find Us On Facebook
Find Us On X
Live Chat