• Main Street, Collon, Co. Louth
  • info@ardeepost.com
  • Opening Time : Always Open
Match Report: Sligo Rovers vs. Drogheda United

Drogheda United Girls Team: DDSL Premier Triumph


The Drogheda United girls team has joined the ranks of legends after clinching the DDSL Premier title, marking a historic achievement for the club.

Drogheda United’s history is rich with legendary teams, from the Maguire brothers’ squad featuring future internationals Gary Kelly and Nick Colgan to Paddy Mooney’s team, who lifted the National Cup at United Park. Other notable teams include those led by the Brennans, Kierans, Murphys, Traynors, Flanagans, Lowneys, David Hallinan, Mick Floyd, Olan Flanagan, Niall Wall, and Rory Kerr.

Now, the girls’ team, managed by coaches Graham Campbell and Pete Dolan, has etched its name among these legends. Founded just over eight years ago, they have secured the club’s first-ever DDSL Premier title and a provincial crown earlier this season.

Going into the decisive match, Drogheda United was one point clear at the top of the table, needing only to avoid defeat to be crowned league champions. The game against Lakelands, who had handed Drogheda their only loss in over a year during the DDSL Cup semi-finals, was tense from the start.

Key Moments:

• In the first 10 minutes, Lakelands threatened with three wide shots before Drogheda’s breakthrough.

First Goal: Alisha Ajisafe intercepted a throw-in and passed to Grace Martin, who laid it off to Zoey English. English’s defense-splitting pass found Sophie Everitt, who lobbed the keeper from 18 yards.

Equalizer: Lakelands leveled with an unopposed header from a corner kick.

Second Half: Tactical changes saw McAvinia move to central midfield, O’Hart to the right wing, Martin to the left wing, and Everitt to center-forward. These adjustments paid off.

Second Goal: Rebecca Caswell’s long-range strike from 35 yards restored Drogheda’s lead.

Third Goal: Everitt secured her second goal and 32nd of the season, slotting the ball under the keeper after a setup by Martin.

Drogheda’s defense, led by Ajisafe, McCroary, and keeper Jade Murphy, held firm to secure the win.

This victory marks the end of a successful era for this team in the Dublin leagues. They now transition to the North East Regional League Youth Premier Division, aiming to catch up with teams there after being refused entry into the NEFL’s women’s divisions.

Team Lineup:

Players: Jade Murphy, Ciara McCroary, Kacey Cummins, Hannah Newman, Niamh Leonard, Megan Murray, Romy McAvinia, Kate MacMahon, Joy Kelly, Grace Martin, Lyndsey Horan, Niamh O’Hart, Sophie Everitt, Zoey English, Alisha Ajisafe, Rebecca Caswell.

Coaches: Graham Campbell, Pete Dolan.

This triumph not only adds to the club’s storied legacy but also sets a new benchmark for future generations of Drogheda United players.

Find Us On Facebook
Find Us On X
Live Chat